State of Origin: Which state has won more Origin series? | Sporting News Australia


State of Origin is all about bragging rights … but which state has the ultimate bragging rights?

We take a look at how New South Wales and Queensland have fared over the years.

MORE: How much do State of Origin players make?

NSW or QLD: Which state has won more Origin series?

There have been 42 full series of State of Origin, and Queensland has won 24 of them. New South Wales has won 16 series, with the remaining two being drawn.

Three one-off games were played in 1980, 1981, and 1987, with Queensland winning the first two and New South Wales the latter. 

Of the 123 State of Origin games played, Queensland has won 66 and New South Wales has claimed 55, with two matches being drawn.

A lot of Queensland’s success has come in the last two decades. Notably, the Maroons won eight consecutive series from 2006 to 2013. 

When was the last time NSW won State of Origin?

Cast your mind back to 2021, when we were all still covering our mouths when coughing, the Ever Given tried to Tokyo Drift its way through the Suez Canal and Squid Game was the height of dignified TV viewing.

That’s the last time the Blues got the job done. Yes, in 2021 NSW last won State of Origin – though it seems a lot longer ago.

Last five State of Origin series results

The Maroons secured consecutive series victories following their win at Suncorp Stadium in June.

In the last five years, Queensland have notched three series wins, which ultimately led to the departure of coach Brad Fittler.

Year Winner Series result
2023 QLD 2-1
2022 QLD 2-1
2021 NSW 2-1
2020 QLD 2-1
2019 NSW 2-1

Share post:


More like this

Car seller Cazoo falls into administration after axing over 700 jobs

The company has appointed administrators from Teneo, who will...

Search Begins for Wales’ STEM Stars of 2024

The 2024 Wales STEM Awards have launched with organisers...

Weekly Chinese Horoscope from May 20-27, 2024: Check what’s in store for you

Rat (1948, 1960, 1972, 1984, 1996, 2008,...