Super Rygbi Cymru competition launched by Welsh Rugby Union


Welsh rugby’s new Elite Domestic Competition (EDC) will be branded as the Super Rygbi Cymru (SRC) trophy next season.

The 10-team tournament will move out of the community game in Wales to become aligned with the professional tier.

The competition is designed to bridge the gap for players moving between the academies and four professional regional teams.

The season will kick-off on the second weekend of September, with the clubs playing 18 home and away league fixtures in the regular season before progressing to play-off rounds and a grand final.

There will be breaks for the autumn internationals and Six Nations programmes, with two seven-match blocks held in September and October, November to January, before the final four regular matches and play-offs to be staged between the end of March and mid-May.

A separate competition called the Super Rygbi Cymru Cup will be scheduled during the 2025 Six Nations.

Each team will play a minimum of 23 fixtures over the course of the season with a further trophy available known as the SRC Challenger Shield.

Carmarthen Quins, Swansea, Ebbw Vale, Aberavon, Newport, Bridgend, Pontypool, Llandovery, RGC and Cardiff are the 10 teams involved, with established clubs such as Neath, Pontypridd and Merthyr not included.

Share post:


More like this

Those who break gambling rules should be ‘kicked out’ of Tories, minister insists

Welsh Secretary David TC Davies claimed it is “quite...

Welsh Secretary says he would never bet on general general election date

The Welsh Secretary has confirmed he did not place...

Wales sack Rob Page: Manager leaves after three years in charge

Wales have sacked manager Rob Page after three and...