THE PLAYERS Championship 2023 Odds, Field: Jon Rahm & Rory McIlroy Favored Over Scottie Scheffler


2023 THE PLAYERS Championship Odds

Odds via PointsBet.

Player Name Odds
Rory Mcilroy +900
Jon Rahm +900
Scottie Scheffler +1100
Patrick Cantlay +1600
Justin Thomas +1800
Max Homa +2000
Collin Morikawa +2200
Xander Schauffele +2500
Viktor Hovland +2500
Jason Day +2800
Tony Finau +3000
Will Zalatoris +3300
Matt Fitzpatrick +3500
Cameron Young +3500
Jordan Spieth +3500
Tyrrell Hatton +3500
Tom Kim +4000
Sungjae Im +4000
Keegan Bradley +4500
Shane Lowry +5000
Keith Mitchell +5500
Corey Conners +5500
Rickie Fowler +6000
Si Woo Kim +6600
Sahith Theegala +7000
Harris English +8000
Tommy Fleetwood +8000
Hideki Matsuyama +8000
Chris Kirk +8000
Sam Burns +8000
Russell Henley +10000
Kurt Kitayama +10000
Seamus Power +10000
Adam Scott +10000
Matt Kuchar +11000
Tom Hoge +11000
Brian Harman +11000
Adam Hadwin +11000
Taylor Montgomery +12500
Alex Noren +12500
Francesco Molinari +12500
Justin Rose +12500
Webb Simpson +12500
Aaron Wise +15000
Gary Woodland +15000
Davis Riley +15000
Billy Horschel +15000
Wyndham Clark +15000
Jhonattan Vegas +15000
Min Woo Lee +17500
Denny Mccarthy +17500
Adam Svensson +17500
Joel Dahmen +17500
Maverick Mcnealy +17500
Justin Suh +17500
Ryan Fox +17500
K.H. Lee +17500
Sepp Straka +17500
Nick Taylor +20000
Emiliano Grillo +20000
Ben Griffin +20000
J.T. Poston +20000
Brendon Todd +20000
Thomas Detry +25000
Lucas Herbert +25000
Kevin Kisner +25000
Andrew Putnam +25000
J.J. Spaun +25000
Stephan Jaeger +25000
Christiaan Bezuidenhout +25000
Mackenzie Hughes +25000
Robby Shelton +25000
Trey Mullinax +25000
Aaron Rai +25000
Byeong Hun An +30000
Taylor Moore +30000
Sam Ryder +30000
Danny Willett +30000
Hayden Buckley +30000
Russell Knox +30000
Taylor Pendrith +30000
Scott Stallings +30000
Garrick Higgo +30000
Brandon Wu +30000
Doug Ghim +30000
Beau Hossler +30000
Ben Martin +30000
S.H. Kim +35000
Cam Davis +35000
Patton Kizzire +35000
Tyler Duncan +35000
Lee Hodges +35000
David Lipsky +35000
Alex Smalley +35000
Luke List +35000
Patrick Rodgers +35000
Dylan Frittelli +35000
Martin Laird +35000
Matt Wallace +40000
Matthew Nesmith +40000
Nick Hardy +40000
Nate Lashley +40000
Davis Thompson +40000
Adam Schenk +40000
Joseph Bramlett +40000
Ryan Palmer +40000
Adam Long +40000
Lanto Griffin +40000
Nico Echavarria +40000
Eric Cole +50000
Stewart Cink +50000
Kramer Hickok +50000
Peter Malnati +50000
Will Gordon +50000
Scott Piercy +50000
Dylan Wu +50000
Andrew Novak +60000
Aaron Baddeley +60000
Kevin Streelman +60000
Greyson Sigg +60000
David Lingmerth +60000
James Hahn +60000
Justin Lower +60000
Michael Thompson +60000
Erik Barnes +60000
Lucas Glover +60000
Callum Tarren +60000
Chesson Hadley +60000
Mark Hubbard +70000
Matthias Schwab +70000
Doc Redman +70000
Troy Merritt +70000
Harrison Endycott +70000
Kevin Tway +70000
Nick Watney +100000
Austin Smotherman +100000
Chad Ramey +100000
Tyson Alexander +100000
Max Mcgreevy +100000
Kelly Kraft +100000
Jerry Kelly +100000
Ryan Brehm +100000
Chez Reavie +100000
Robert Streb +100000

The PGA TOUR heads to Ponte Vedra Beach for THE PLAYERS Championship at TPC Sawgrass (Stadium Course). This is the second consecutive designated event on TOUR after Kurt Kitayama prevailed in Orlando this past weekend at the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard.

The field is stacked again this week with 43 of the top 50 players in the OWGR and 49 of the top 50 players in the FedExCup Playoffs and Eligibility Points List competing. All 14 winners this season on the PGA TOUR are also in the field this week as the winner will receive 600 FedExCup points. Ben Taylor is the lone player in the top 50 of the FedExCup standings who won’t play as he scheduled his wedding for this week.

Jon Rahm opened at PointsBet with the shortest odds to win the tournament at +800. Rahm has won three of his six starts on TOUR in 2023, including two of the four prior designated events. He had his worst finish on TOUR this past weekend at the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard (T39) since he was T55 at the Genesis Scottish Open.

Rory McIlroy, the 2019 winner at TPC Sawgrass, opened in a tie with Scottie Scheffler for the second-shortest odds on the board at +1000. Both McIlroy (T2) and Scheffler (T4) are coming off of top-five finishes at Bay Hill.

The 2021 winner at THE PLAYERS Championship, Justin Thomas, has PointsBet’s fourth-shortest odds at +1600 as of Sunday evening. Thomas finished in a tie for 33rd here last year as he was on the wrong side of the draw that saw significantly more challenging weather conditions.

Patrick Cantlay is the final player with odds shorter than 20/1 as he sits at +1800. The 2021 FedExCup champion is coming off of a T4 at the Arnold Palmer Invitational, but he has never finished better than a tie for 22nd at THE PLAYERS Championship in six attempts.

Course Preview

TPC Sawgrass (Stadium Course) is a 7,275-yard par 72 that features TifEagles Bermudagrass greens. Pete Dye’s crown jewel was built in 1980 and renovated in 2016. Since last year, there has been a new tee installed on the par-5 ninth hole that could make it the first 600-yard hole ever at THE PLAYERS Championship. The first hole also has three new pot bunkers in the right rough that will make missing the fairway even more penal.

TPC Sawgrass (Stadium) has water on 17 of the 18 holes (the lone exception is the eighth hole) and is most well known for the 17th hole with its famous island green (which is technically a peninsula).

The final three-hole stretch sets up one of the most exhilarating finishes in golf with risks and rewards: a short par-5 with water short right of the green, a short par-3 17th with water and a small pot bunker surrounding the green, and the dogleg left 18th with one of the toughest fairways to hit on TOUR that hugs water on the left all the way up the green.

Past Winners

TPC Sawgrass sets up as one of the tougher tests on TOUR with just one player (Webb Simpson at -18 in 2018) shooting below 16-under in the last 10 years. Past champions Justin Thomas, Rory McIlroy, Jason Day, Rickie Fowler, Webb Simpson and Si Woo Kim are among the notable players in the field this week. Tiger Woods is the only player with two wins at THE PLAYERS Championship this century.

Year Player Winning Score
2022 Cameron Smith 13-under
2021 Justin Thomas 14-under
2019 Rory McIlroy 16-under
2018 Webb Simpson 18-under
2017 Si Woo Kim 10-under
2016 Jason Day 15-under
2015 Rickie Fowler 12-under
2014 Martin Kaymer 13-under
2013 Tiger Woods 13-under

How would you rate this article?

This site contains commercial content. We may be compensated for the links provided on this page. The content on this page is for informational purposes only. Action Network makes no representation or warranty as to the accuracy of the information given or the outcome of any game or event.

Share post:


More like this